Baltimore Washington Medical Center

Name of Hospital: Baltimore Washington Medical Center

City, State/Province, Country: Glen Burnie, MD, USA

Number of Stars: 1

Comment: After being released from an inpatient ward after [method of suicide attempt redacted]* I began an outpatient PHP (Partial Hospitalization Program) at Baltimore Washington Medical Center and was mentally and emotionally traumatized by nurses who denied that I was autistic and sent me into the worst panic attack I have even had. Upon being able to speak again (still in the midst of panic), I requested to be left alone for a couple of minutes, just to have some quiet so I could self soothe.

During this entire process, the nurse continued to berate me for faking all of it. Upon my panic attack and inability to move continuing, I was told that if I didn’t stop and calm down and admit to faking it, they would send me back to the ER for endangering myself. I continued to ask (beg) for them to just give me two minutes to myself to self soothe using the techniques I have learned in therapy. They would not, and I ended up being sent to the ER because they decided that their power trip was more valid than my diagnoses and therapy.

Type of program (i.e. day program, inpatient): Partial Hospitalization Program

Any other identities/marginalizations (i.e. race/gender/sexuality) that could have influenced your stay?: Queer/genderqueer/polyamorous/autistic

*Moderator Note: I redacted the submission’s description of their method for attempting as it is a best practice in journalism at least to not include method.

Leave a comment